WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT?
WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT?: The Podcast
Podcast Launch! 🚀 Episode 1: Climate Variety Show
4
0:00
-31:52

Podcast Launch! 🚀 Episode 1: Climate Variety Show

Take climate seriously, but don't take yourself seriously.
4

When I launched this newsletter, I mentioned I was contemplating launching a podcast here too. Y’all were into it. Turns out you, like me, missed How to Save a Planet. (RIP 😢) So... welcome to:

WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT?, the podcast!

Cast of the Brooklyn book launch, aka Climate Variety Show — the subject of episode 1! (Photo: Kisha Bari)

PODCAST CONCEPT (of a plan): Continue exploring answers to the big (huge!) question “What if we get it right?”, beyond what’s in the (New York Times bestselling!!! 😮) book.

VIBE: Take climate seriously, but don't take yourself seriously. Irreverent, nerdy, soulful, goofy.

get the book

Off we go!

I’m on a 7-week book tour 🫠 across the USA, and I’m taking you with me: 20 cities, 40 events, each one different. I’ll be in conversation with all sorts of fantastic folks, talking climate and policy and politics and culture. And I’ll be sharing the best bits of that here.

When Rolling Stone said they wanted to announce my book tour (🤯), listing all the stops like we’re a rock band (😵), I thought, “maybe I should record and share this somehow....” As the reporter described it, “Ayana E. Johnson, Jason Sudeikis, Roy Wood Jr. Are Throwing a Climate Party:

...for a project this unconventional, it called for a book tour that was just as multifaceted, entertaining, and action-focused in its call to address the climate crisis. On Sept. 17, the Climate Variety Show — produced by Jenisha Shrestha and written by Brad Einstein — will launch Johnson’s trek that will run until Oct. 26 and stop in 13 states and 19 cities across America.* The event will take place at the Brooklyn Museum in New York and be co-hosted by Johnson and actor Jason Sudeikis, while also packing in musical performances, comedy skits, poetry readings, and yes, Dance Dance Revolution. 

*Note: I’ve since added a stop. What’s good, Detroit?!

Alright, are you with me? Let’s do this!

EPISODE 1 – ✨ CLIMATE VARIETY SHOW ✨

Hope you’ll enjoy these excerpts from the book launch. 🕺🏽 Transcript is below.

I’m on the road, so please forgive the audio quality – will have a proper mic 🎙️ for episode 2!

Taking the show on the road – next up, LA!

Los Angeles homies, we are bringing the show to the west coast TOMORROW, Sept 28th @ 7:30p. Jason and I will be co-hosting again, with a new cast of talented friends at Dynasty Typewriter. There are a few seats left – snag tickets 🎟️ here. And if you’re not in LA, catch the livestream 📺 here.

TRANSCRIPT:

Coming soon...

Share

WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT? is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT?
WHAT IF WE GET IT RIGHT?: The Podcast
Forward-looking musings on climate & culture from a scientist and policy nerd.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ayana Elizabeth Johnson